Yoga - Ashta Yoga Valley
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-15709,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-7.6.2,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.6.2,vc_responsive


What is Yoga?

The union of Individual self and universe self or the higher self = Yoga

 There are four path of Yoga as followed:

  • Bhakti Yoga – Yoga of devotion. Where one follows the word of god, the path he walked and his ethics.
  • Karma Yoga – Yoga of selfless service. Where one is free of desire or wanting of something in exchange, which helps reducing the five senses in the sense of minds desires and helps understanding the mind on deeper and practical level.
  • Jana Yoga – Yoga of knowledge. Jana yoga is where one inquires what is his life about? why has he come in this world? what is his purpose and where will he go after he leaves this body.
  • Raja Yoga – Yoga of meditation, the king of yoga. The science of balanced mind, physic and soul. Where there is only meditation, the pure oneness without any expectations and inquiries.

Yoga based on 8 Limbs of Yoga

Is one of the summarized outcomes of a part of Patanjalis Yoga Sutras, called the “Sadhana Pada”, the practice Accomplishment.

In This he gives a clear concept of what yoga practice consists of. There are different translations of the 8 limbs, I will give some information of 3 different references, so finally, this shall help us to understand, what they want to show us.

In short form, the 8 limbs are:

  • Yama – Self or moral restraints (dont’s), non self indulgence, about not letting us be dominated by what gives us comfort
  • Niyama – Self observances (do’s) appropriate attitude, recommended behaviours
  • Asana – Body Posture, awareness of body



Posture (āsanam), (should be) firm (sthira) and agreeable -pleasant- (sukham)||

  • Pranayama – Breath in-richment, awareness of breath
  • Pratyahara – Withdrawal of the senses from the outside world, sensual energy withdrawal, withdrawal of the attention of objects
  • Dharana – Concentration, linking of the attention to the higher concentration forces, awareness of the attention
  • Dhyana – Meditation, resting in awareness or effortless linkage of the attention to the higher concentration
  • Samadhi – Identification with the pure consciousness, becoming established in this awareness, continuous effortless linkage of the attention

अथ योगानुशासनम्॥

Atha yogānuśāsanam||

Now begins (atha), the instruction (anuśāsanam), regarding Yoga (yoga)||

Give – Appreciate – Love – Realize

~Amit Namdev~

Interested in doing a Yoga Teacher Training? Read more

Interested in learning about tantra?      Read More